More Deaf people are given chance for work

My Deaf Student Renato Moran In Action

My Deaf Student Renato Moran In Action

After using my green passport only for three trips since I first applied for it in 2003, it’s time for me to renew it. All of my trips were officially paid for by the government since I can’t afford to travel. I’m proud to say that all my trips had to do with my devotion for the deaf. I went to India and Japan as a sign language interpreter and an expert/coach for our Deaf national champions who were qualified to join in an international skills competition called Abilympics.

We were blessed to win many medals during the 6th Abilympics International Skills Competition last 2003 in New Delhi, India. My Deaf “brother” Ervin received the bronze medal in web page design category. However, in our next stint in Japan last 2007, we were not able to bring home anything. (sigh)

Enough lingering in misery. Let’s go back to my topic. Since Ervin and I applied for our passport on the same year, so both of them will expire this September. We planned to visit the Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) during a local holiday so that we won’t miss our classes. We took the opportunity to go last Tuesday (August 19) since it was a red-letter day for Quezon City and not in Pasay City. I also used it as a chance to meet our deaf graduates in action.

First, I texted one of my favorite deaf student, Renato Moran requesting him to assist us. Sure enough, he responded. Clad in formal black pants and decent upper shirt with plastic-laminated ID proudly hanging on his neck, he greeted us with his very warm and handsome smile. After a few “how are you’s” and “how is your work” exchanges in sign language, we proceeded to the real battle, the battle of falling in line.

Now, this is interesting. When we entered the basketball court where the filing of application starts, I was overwhelmed by the long snakey line up of human bodies waiting for their turn to be served. I believe around 500 people were there. I heard from some reports that DFA serves more than 3,000 people at any given day. Most are Overseas Filipino Workers, our modern heroes.

What is more interesting is that he just swooped his way out of the line and handed over our documents to the lady personnel! I felt so embarrassed especially when piercing glances stared upon us as we walk passed through them. But Renato was adamant. He just gave his killer smile to the lady and bang! She took our documents, checked the contents, placed a stamp pad and stapled the paper of our scheduled return, all within two minutes. Now that was fast! I know I should feel guilty. But come to think of it, I shouldn’t. Disabled people and senior citizens are provided special courtesy lane. Ervin is disabled. But I’m not. Well, who would know? That’s the perk of having an insider. hehehe

Rona May (2nd from left) assists passport applicants.

Rona May (2nd from left) assists passport applicants.


Afterwards, Renato toured us to his work place. We went pass through countless guards. Due to the huge applicants’ turnout, the spacious auditorium hall was used for the processing of passport. Their tables are lined up on three corners of a square while all the people are in the middle seated comfortably again in snake-like fashion. He introduced me to the office assigned interpreter, Ms. Connie Remetio. She was cordial and, as I was told, very helpful to the deaf group.

In all, around 13 deaf persons are working at DFA. Most of them came from MCCID with the rest coming from other schools. Hiring more personnel was necessary due to the requirement of DFA for additional manpower in their consular services particularly their passport division. Starting last year, all passports to be issued by DFA will be machine readable which will bear the data about its holder.

Nova Foundation for the Differently Abled is the one in charge of providing personnel to DFA or for any government offices that needed manpower. MCCID has been their faithful partner since 1996. After our student graduates, they are given further training in corporate setting by Nova Foundation. Once they pass their standards, they provide them with job placements both in the foundation and in other companies. Some noted MCCID and Nova trained deaf employees include Marlene Pio (Head Proofreader), Lezzer Gonzales (PC technician) and Gimar Aguillon (web designer).

To Nonito Visagar, Rona May Delos Reyes (my Goddaughter), Ma. Teresa Vicente, Rumijae Bubon, Emmanuel Cruz and of course to Renato Moran, I pray that you would be more faithful to your work. Love your work. It’s hard to find jobs especially for the deaf. This is a once in a lifetime opportunity for you. Do your best!

To Nova Foundation and Department of Foreign Affairs, thank you very much for the wonderful chance you gave to our Filipino Deaf. God bless you and Mabuhay po kayo!

To know more about Nova Foundation, visit their site at www.novafoundation.ph. Their website is proudly made by our deaf student, Gimar.🙂

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine


  1. i am 27 years old had finish my elementary and secondary education at the Philippines School for the Deaf. I also had a training regarding Office Information Technology conducted by San Pedro Manpower Institute under the supervision of TESDA a government run project. As I finish the course I have no were to go because of my disability I am hoping that someday someone will come my way to lend me a hand so I could practice my training and also have chance to earn for a living.

    thank you very much for giving time answering my email.

    Good day and GOD BLESS US

    Roel Brian H. Reveche

  2. i am deaf and mute i’m boy i want to applying in SM north edsa for photoshop because i already learned the photoshop editing but now i have certificate in tesda accredited already i am 24 year old because my classmate is only normal in tesda accredited only write communicating… Don’t worry, i know to normal person… please my cel # 09084935392 and my facebook email is diosanajr.ernesto@yahoo.com… I am here in Malabon City of Potrero….THANK YOU VERY MUCH🙂

  3. I am deaf and mute I’m boy I want to applying in SM north edsa for photoshop
    editing Where I already learned the photoshop editing but now I have certificate in tesda accredited already I am 24 year old because my classmate is normal in tesda accredited only write communicating… Don’t worry, I know to normal person… please my cel # 09084935392 and my facebook email is diosanajr.ernesto@yahoo.com… I am here in Malabon City of Potrero…. THANK YOU!!!

  1. 1 Happy 15th Anniversary to Manila Christian Computer Institute for the Deaf! « Filipino Deaf from the Eyes of a Hearing Person

    […] Fifteen years later, MCCID is now a well established organization in the field of computer education for the deaf that is recognized both here and abroad. Although we may not claim that we are the first post secondary school for the deaf in the Philippines, still we are one of the pioneers in computer and technical education. We also take pride in providing access to job opportunities for our qualified deaf graduates. Although this information can be disputed due to lack of prior records, MCCID claims to produce the first deaf graduates who landed a job in the highest Philippine official, President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, at Malacanang Palace. We also have the most number of deaf graduates working as encoders at the Department of Foreign Affairs. […]

  2. 2 Philippine Supreme Court Hires its First Deaf Employee « Filipino Deaf from the Eyes of a Hearing Person

    […] I believe aside from CAP College, he was also a product of NOVA-CBM ICT Training Center, a training arm of the Nova Foundation for Differently Abled Persons Inc., a Philippine-based non-government organization. Many of our graduates also benefited from the corporate training Nova gives to the deaf including those hired at the Department of Foreign Affairs. […]

  3. 3 Deaf encoders pass TESDA exams « Filipino Deaf from the Eyes of a Hearing Person

    […] my previous post entitled “More Deaf people are given chance for work“, I congratulated all of our deaf alumni who are currently working as encoders in the […]

  4. 4 Deaf encoders pass government exam « Filipino Deaf from the Eyes of a Hearing Person

    […] my previous post entitled “More Deaf people are given chance for work“, I congratulated all of our deaf alumni who are currently working as encoders in the […]

  5. 5 Common misconceptions when hiring Deaf workers « Filipino Deaf from the Eyes of a Hearing Person

    […] I have lauded their labors and blogged about their successes a few times here, here, here and here. But I believe there is something amiss with this system of conducting job fairs for […]

  6. 6 DFA’s Outstanding Employee Awardee is a Deaf! « Filipino Deaf from the Eyes of a Hearing Person

    […] training, he again showed his diligence and skills. That’s why the foundation selected him together with five other MCCID alumni to undergo trial work at the Department of Foreign Affairs. After passing the Civil Service […]




Leave a Reply

