How can deaf children develop their self-esteem?


A question was posted in this blog by Mr. Brent Sabas, a student who currently works on his thesis research about deaf children.

I can’t say that I am well-versed with this subject matter because I don’t handle deaf children. All of our students are young deaf adults. So I like to throw his question to my faithful readers by posting your responses below.

Here is his message:

Brent Sabas, on September 11th, 2008 at 5:22 am Said:

Hi Sir Jojo, I’m a student of UP College of Fine Arts and (also) currently working on my thesis research about deaf children. So glad I found a blogger that has so much concern about the deaf community.

According to a book that I’ve read, the identity of a person is shaped by two factors: (1) the attributes that make each of us unique, and (2)society’s reaction to our uniqueness.

In the case of deaf children, as they’re being ridiculed because of their “uniqueness”, how do you think can they learn to have a high self-esteem? What are the help they can possibly get as a child to withstand the scrutinizing eyes of the public?

Thank you Sir! I really need infos from a practitioner like you. And your site is definitely a good reference for my data gathering. God bless!

Hope to hear from your replies. :-)

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

  1. Brent Sabas

    I had an informal interview with Ms. Marie Grace Gomez of SPED (Special Education) in UP. It appears that deaf people in general have no problem with their self-concept. Well, the trauma depends on the family, peers, school and other external factors around the deaf individual, but collectively speaking, they don’t have problem coping (so i was wrong, now I’m having a problem).

    As for the deaf children, they have difficulties on developing communication skills and language, which is the hard part of their growing up process. Social development may be delayed because they don’t communicate with hearing children adequately (which offers me a new direction for my topic, hmm).

    . I consulted one of my professors and he advised me to why not target the people around the deaf individuals, maybe the problem is on the hearing community and not with the deaf themselves, since I’ve learned that self-concept is not a problem. And somewhere along the way no matter how confident a deaf individual is in dealing with the hearing people, communication would still be an issue, a stumbling block in the interaction. In the College of Fine Arts, there are now 3 deaf students, which my prof thinks is good for my research because I have an easier access with the persons involved.

    What do you think sir? San kaya magandang magfocus? Any reactions?

    I’m also planning to watch the Silent Odyssey, I went to the UP Film Institute yesterday but tickets are not yet available there. The guy told me to purchase the ticket on the showing day itself, but I’m afraid they might run out of stocks. I also texted Ms. Noemi, I told her about the UPFI and I’m still waiting for her reply.

    Sir Jojo, thank you very much in advance.

  2. I would think that the deaf children might feel a bit of a lack of self-confidence when dealing with other hearing children but in their own communities and families I would think they would have the same chance at high self-esteem as any other person. If they are treated with respect and care from their parents and teachers then they should do just fine.




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 314 other followers

