I know this is somewhat off-topic. It’s my blog! I can write whatever pleases me so long as it is informative and I won’t be cajoling my readers. I might probably even ask for your help in deciding. I’ll relate it with the deaf a bit later.๐Ÿ™‚

Text Messaging

Last Wednesday (March 18), was one of those hectic, one-next-to-another schedule I had in years. After working my brains out at the school completing some paper works, I was juggling my time by attending to some parents of our deaf students trying my best to meet their concerns, which is mostly a communication thing between them and their students, the usual. I was unaware that my Nokia N80 cellphone which I bought nearly three years ago, conked out. Late in the afternoon, I started to wonder why for the first time in years, nobody texted me. There was no prompt message on the screen. Hmmm…. that’s odd. So I opened my message inbox. Lo and behold! I had nine incoming text messages, most of them work related and extremely important! What happened to my cellphone? What went wrong?

So every few minutes, I open my inbox which I don’t normally do. Then, I panicked! What will I do? It’s been three years since I bought a new cell. Do I think it’s time to take a leap to a new one?

In one of my text messages, my college best bud Sammy Mazo and his wife Mel informed me that they would be leaving back to Singapore, their current home base, after taking care of things here for the last few days. They want us to have a quick, unplanned and uncoordinated reunion with our other common college best friends Vicky Jamoralin and Susan Abada. I told them I’m available but only up to 8:00 pm because I have to be in our mini-web design conference in Ortigas. So after a few text exchanges, I arrived at SM North EDSA first, then Susan, then Sammy. We ate at Tokyo Tokyo when Vicky came. The reunion was a total blast! I had a really grand time. It’s a good thing Susan’s beau Jhun is a cellphone technician. When I related to him my cellphone ailment, he recommended that I reset it using *#7370# code. I asked him if all of my messages, (all 2,200 of them) would be erased including my contacts if I reset it? He said yes. Ugh! Again I panicked!๐Ÿ˜ฆ

My very first cell phone way back 1996

My very first cell phone way back 1996 is Nokia 2110i.


Cellphones are now becoming an all-important gadget a modern man has to have. In 1996, my cousin sold me Nokia 2110i from Globe Telecom. Back then, very very few people are into mobile phones. They find them heavy, bulky on the pocket, expensive and no functional use. I don’t know why I bought it. I am even more inclined to buy a TTY than a cellphone. So after a few months of use or, shall we say non-use, I placed it on our school’s cabinet for safekeeping. I don’t have anyone to talk to. Nobody in my circle of friends own a similar gadget.

I remember one of the first commercials of Globe Telecom way back 1996(?) (I wish somebody would upload it in YouTube), where two mid-twenties guys texting each other. The first guy was informing his girl through text how he was accepted in a company. The girl then gave sweet replies. They decided to meet up in a cozy restaurant. The text messages went back and forth. Then when they arrived at the place, the guy suddenly made hand signs. Then the girl replied with her own hand signs. They were both deaf! Text messaging has empowered deaf people! I don’t know if my perception jibes with the company’s intention. But I assume they believe that deaf people are a potent market for text messaging. I told you I can relate this post to the deaf. hehehe

A couple of years later, texting caught the attention of mainstream mortals. They find it a cheaper (Php1.00 per text) and faster way to send their messages across. Soon the SMS mobile history caught on. But not for me.

Then in 2000, after being surrounded by deaf people using cellphones and with constant prodding, nudging and convincing from them for me to buy one, I succumbed to their pressures. But I promised myself I won’t buy the same model as theirs. I want to be a cut above the rest. So while everyone taps the keypads of Nokia 3210, I bought Nokia 7110, the one with big head but couldn’t change its case. A year later, when my deaf brother Ervin upgraded his phone to Nokia 5110, I changed mine to Nokia 5510, the blue one shaped like a game boy. In 2002, I again switched to Nokia 3600, the one with circular keypad and a VGA camera. Ervin bought an upgraded model, Nokia 3650. I don’t know what’s got into me but a few months later, I again cried for Nokia 6600, the first model with video recording. Although I vehemently deny that I’m a gadget freak, I can’t help but buy what is the latest model in the market. Now my friends could not catch up. They all stayed with whatever cellphone that is comfortable for text messaging.

In 2003, I bought the sleek Nokia 7610 with black/red color and leaf shaped design. After years with Nokia, I then tried my luck with Sony Ericsson. In 2004, I bought S700, the one true camera phone. However, what strength it gives on camera, it lacks on text messaging. It often hangs up when I text more than 30 times a day. It’s just not right for me. Nokia is the most popular brand here in the Philippines due to its powerful text messaging features.

So after almost two years, I switched back to text king Nokia. In 2006, I bought Nokia N80. One thing I liked about it is that it’s Wi-fi enabled. I can surf the Net anywhere there is a free connection. Since then, it became my phone for life, until now.

Palm Tungsten E2

Palm Tungsten E2


Aside from fascinating myself with mobile phones, I also ventured out into other gadgets. In 2005, I bought a Palm Tungsten E1 Personal Device Assistant. I use it in taking down notes during seminar lectures and playing games. It proved to be useful for me when I copied the whole Bible in three versions and a concordance with sermon notes. I often bring it to church.

My brother who is currently based in New York, uses Apple IPhone. Most of his comments were praises. So I’m more or less influenced to buy one, except the one thing that hinders me most, the price. The 8GB model bundled with Globe plans cost a whooping 35,000 pesoses! So much for Apple! The current craze is touch screen phone. When my idol-friend Jefferson Cortez went for a one-month vacation spree in China to be with the love of his life (Wow! You lucky dog! hehehe), Ervin requested Jeff to buy him an Apple clone, more popularly called here as China Phone. However, when we compared prices, the phones here in the Philippines were even cheaper than theirs. That’s strange! So Ervin instead eagerly bought one in Greenhills Shopping Mall, the Philippine’s cellphone mecca.

Apple Clone called China Phone

Apple Clone called China Phone


But after a few days of using it, Ervin’s praises turned into complaints. One infamous grumble is about his difficulty texting using the touch screen. You see, he is kinda chubby on the fingers so pressing letters on the glass casing proves to be a pain for him. I tried it myself and it can-do at first. But when you are in a hurry and only one hand is available, texting using touch screen would seem daunting. So I guess, a touch screen cell phone might not be advantageous after all. I was nearly decided to buy Nokia 5800 ExpressMusic, their first touch screen model. But aside from occasional photo shooting, listening to good music (I also have Apple Ipod Nano 4GB so I rarely use my N80 for sound tripping.) and Internet browsing, a day with my cellphone is mostly texting and a wake up alarm clock. What would be the best model for me? hmmm….

Now, when I attended the mini-web design conference that Wednesday night, I saw most of the speakers flaunt their Apple MacAir Laptops. They were really fascinating. Saliva literally went gushing out my mouth. I have been using my Acer Travelmate running on Windows XP since 2006. I shouted to myself, I wanna buy them Apple!!!! :-0


  1. My Italian Restaurants

    Hello from Hamilton Ontario! Great Blog. I will be checking back!

  2. Wow! Expensive gadgets that I can’t afford. Apple gadgets are the most interesting and eye catching topic specially an apple mac and its latest.
    Great applause and a standing ovation for you Sir Jojo for being a blogger.๐Ÿ™‚

  1. 1 Gadgets Madness Part Deux « Filipino Deaf from the Eyes of a Hearing Person

    […] TechnologiesTags: Apple MacBook, Nokia 2600 Classic, Nokia E66, Virra Mall Shopping Center In my previous post, I made a litany of all the electronic gadgets I bought with cell phones in particular. I also […]




Leave a Reply

