What’s going on with Deafread.com?

After experiencing probably the busiest months of my life, I again headed towards WordPress and updated my blog. The first one I made after a long hiatus was about congratulating myself in reaching my first 70,000 visitors. The next one was my travelogue to a world famous underground river.

I know these two won’t count as deaf related blog posts. Although they both contain some deaf personalities, still they don’t focus on deaf persons and their issues. So I don’t expect them to appear on DeafRead’s main page.

But when I opened my WordPress Blog Stats, I was pleasantly surprised that a significant number of visitors came from DeafRead. I know that the topics posted there are moderated. But why did my post appear there?

For the rest of my readers who are not familiar with the site, DeafRead is an

aggregator that gathers blogs from all over the internet into one central location.

In other words, DeafRead collects all subscribed feeds from different bloggers who blog about deaf related contents and issues. It then has a panel of team and human editors who read those blogs and select what posts would occupy the main page and those that would appear in their Extra page. They also separate those that are text blogs and video blogs which is commonly called as vlogs. It’s a “Thankless job” according to its founder Tayler Mayer. But somebody has to do it and they are doing a swell job in there! šŸ™‚

I often go to DeafRead when I blog about a deaf related issue and wait until it is posted there. They provided a special page for all my blog posts. I occasionally go there to read other equally interesting blog posts. However, I was wondering why my last two posts appeared on the main page. I thought probably it’s one of those glitches in the feeds.

When I paid a visit to the site, I saw this top post right after my entry. It’s entitled “On DeafRead losing Bloggers” by one of my favorite blogger Dianrez. She mentioned about her sadness on the influx of bloggers and vloggers leaving DeafRead. She cited about the invasion of CI and oral blogs. She also surmised about the exodus of some Deaf bloggers and the neighborhood’s changing character.

One solution offered by Tayler was to use the DeafRead Hide. DeafRead Hide was created to allow you to personalize DeafRead. By registering for a dashboard account, you can control which blogs you want and don’t want to see on DeafRead.

That may be a good alternative. But in my case, I don’t want to be bothered by creating a list of what to read and what not to read. It’s like reading a newspaper. You see all the headlines at a glance. It’s your choice to continue reading the rest of the news article. I suggest DeafRead creates a separate category for those who blog about their CI experiences and being an oralist. People who write about these topics are, in my opinion, already considered as non-deaf or hearing people. As such, they don’t belong to DeafRead anymore.

I am a hearing person. But I want to see blogs that focus only on topics which I’m interested to read like sign language, closed captions, deaf education and deaf culture. A separate category or an entirely new website that deals with these topics might even be better.

I appreciate the good work they are doing there! My all time top referrer was from DeafRead. Nearly half of my American visitors came from DeafRead. I just hope that they would continue doing their work and promise to maintain impartiality and credibility. šŸ™‚


  1. Thanks for a Hearing perspective. In our evolution in the Deaf blogsphere, it is interesting that hearing people have views on what they want to see of us.

  2. As a hearing person you have NO right to tell me I am not a deaf person. You wouldn’t know what being deaf is, and I suggest you not try to lump us all in one neat little category. I found your post extremely insulting…. I mean seriously… unbelievably insulting. I wouldn’t dream of telling a hearing person to not post on a site that collects blogs posted by deaf people, but oh the irony of a hearing person telling me I don’t fit in. Ugh.

  3. Do you really think that wearing a hearing aid of some kind or writing about a CI or about a particular learning method transforms someone from a deaf person into a typical hearing person? What about HOH people, do you think they don’t deserve to be part of deafread or deaf culture, too, because they have access to sound? Do ASL deaf with CIs lose their membership according to your rules?

    You can remove your own blog from deafread if you don’t think it’s appropriate. But why tell other people who consider themselves deaf that they don’t deserve to be part of the deafread conversation because the topic they write about — CIs are deaf-related — is not something you are looking for?

    I don’t think Deafread should be a dog and pony show of happy, shiny homogeneous deaf people for hearing people like you to enjoy as entertainment. I think it should be a sometimes tough conversation between diverse types in the deaf community trying to find common ground or exploring and celebrating what makes them unique.

  4. Thank you very much for all the commenters whether approving or dissenting. I appreciate your opinions. Keep ’em coming! šŸ™‚

  5. Jefferson Cortez

    Sir Jojo,

    Mukhang na insulto. =)) hehe

  6. @Jeff mukha nga. hehehe

    Oks lang yun para masaya blog ko.




Leave a Reply

